High on Fire: Snakes for the Divine “Frost Hammer” Feb 1, 2010

So so so fucking stoked on this release. High on Fire released a single, entitled “Frost Hammer” off their forthcoming album, Snakes for the Divine, last Friday. Following the masterpiece, Death is this Communion, the band seems to be in top-notch shape for producing their 5th album; a self-proclaimed magnum opus. Matt Pike’s sounding great, as are Des Kensel’s drums and this first single is killer. Unsurprisingly, artist Arik Roper, returns to adorn yet another release with beautiful cover art. Damn. Roper’s the man! Here’s Roper’s description on the inspiration for Snakes for the Divine:

This cover idea was loosely conceived by the band: The snakes representing “sin” and the woman having some biblical allusions ( Eve and Lilith).

More information, including the tracks, release date and high-resolution album art, is below.

Band: High on Fire
Album: Snakes for the Divine
Label: E1 Music
Release Date: February 23rd, 2010

1.) “Snakes for the Divine”
2.) “Frost Hammer”
3.) “Bastard Samurai”
4.) “Ghost Neck”
5.) “Fire, Flood & Plague”
6.) “How Dark We Pray”
7.) “Holy Flames of the Fire Spitter”
8.) “Mystery of Helm”

I’m waiting eagerly for February 23rd to get here.

  • although high on fire fucking rules, OM is probably my favorite band to come out of sleep. BUT Pilgrimage was the last decent thing they put out.

  • Dude, Death is this Communion and Blessed Black Wings were two of the best stoner doom albums of the 2000’s. HANDS DOWN. OM had Pilgrimage (Conference Of The Birds was ok…). God is Good BLEW! So bad. hahaha.

    I can’t wait for this album. I’ve listened to this single all night.

  • High on Fire is playing a show here with some Volcom tour in a couple weeks, and the tickets were $4 including service – and I got one.

  • So excited about there new album, it’s due time. I just hope they don’t tour with anyone really big so the venues will stay small–but with the sound of this single, I think they can only get bigger.

  • Morgan. I hate you.

  • ok ok agreed. i just wanted to state- god is good is by far the worst record ever put out. it makes me want to listen to taylor swift and kanye west do a record together. horrible.

  • I’ll see you there Morgan! When I went to Scrape Records to buy tickets, the clerk said that he would only accept cash because of the low price of the tickets. I didn’t have any cash, so a customer who was standing next to me paid for both of my tickets and said ‘anything for a fellow metal fan’. Fuck yeah! Isn’t that what it’s all about?

  • fuckin’ love it.